Welcome to the Wisconsin Chiefs of Police website. 

The mission of the Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association is to be the public voice on social and professional issues for law enforcement; to be a resource to its members; to make training available regarding the state-of-the-art concepts in policing; to be a legislative advocate for law enforcement; to provide representation for the general good of law enforcement at the local, state, and federal levels; to provide open communications with members and the public; to ensure the organization, as the beacon for Wisconsin law enforcement, embodies the highest level of integrity and honesty; and embraces moral and ethical behavior emanating from the principles found in the law enforcement code of ethics.

The Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association seeks not to dictate the operation of its member agencies, but intends to enlighten and provoke thought, thereby enhancing public service to all citizens of Wisconsin. The organization will be one in which all members can take pride.

Peter A. Nimmer

President, WCPA


As most of you know, the WCPA formally endorsed Marsy’s Law for Wisconsin and provided written support for the measure to the State Legislative Committees that passed Marsy’s Law on a bi-partisan basis. The bill, which enhances the current language in the state Constitution by providing rights to victims of crime, passed both the state Senate and Assembly by wide, bi-partisan margins.

But Marsy’s Law must pass the Legislature in two successive sessions and in order for Marsy's Law to appear on the ballot in April 2019, the second consideration must be passed in the first 22 days in January’s legislative session. In short, time is of the essence to demonstrate our support for this worthy effort to strengthen Crime Victim’s Rights in Wisconsin.

It is very easy to add your support by simply clicking on this link and adding your name: http://endorsemlwi.com/

I'm proud as we all should be of the leading role the WCPA has played in support of Marsy's Law. Our association was one of the first organizations to endorse this measure, and we have members from every corner of the state who have stepped up to help crime victims become survivors.

Peter A. Nimmer
WCPA President

Wisconsin Law Enforcement Death Response Team 

Would you know where to turn if your agency were to ever experience the loss of an officer whether it be a line-of-duty death, suicide or medical emergency off duty? In the state of Wisconsin the Law Enforcement Death Response (LEDR) Team is a great resource available to all agencies. The LEDR Team is trained to assist with all details of a death of a law enforcement officer regardless of the circumstances. This includes: Death Notification, Critical Incident Debriefings, Peer Counseling, Funeral Service Preparations, Public Safety Officer Benefits (PSOB), Family Support, Media Coordination, and Agency logistics. 

There are PSOB benefits that someone may be eligible for under the Hometown Heroes Survivors Act. When an officer dies within 24 hours of a shift from a heart attack or stroke, this could be considered a line-of-duty death and there is potential that benefits would be provided. If your agency experiences a circumstance like this, please reach out to the team and they will work with your agency to see if the officer's survivors might qualify for these benefits. LEDR also works in collaboration with Wisconsin Concerns of Police Survivors, Wisconsin Law Enforcement Memorial Board, Wisconsin Honor Guard Association, and others. LEDR is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. To reach the LEDR team during the time of an officer death, please call the Wisconsin Department of Justice TIME System Control Center (TSCC) 608-266-7633. If you have general questions regarding the LEDR team you can email [email protected]

The LEDR Team is made up of volunteers from across the state who are current and former law enforcment members, licensed social workers with experience in law enforcement treatment and care, and trainers and professionals passionate about caring for our caregivers. We also have members on the team who are members of Wisconsin Concerns of Police Survivors (C.O.P.S), the Wisconsin Honor Guard Association, and the Wisconsin Law Enforcement Memorial Board. 

 Law Enforcment Death Response Team Facebook Page - follow for updates on officer deaths in Wisconsin